Saturday 2 October 2010


Cornwall Badminton – County Championships review, September 2010

The new season’s restricted championships, recently held at Polkyth Leisure Centre, St Austell, saw 56 players from all over Cornwall entertain the crowds with some exciting, nail-biting badminton.

Over half of the players came from Cornwall Youth Badminton, showing their skills and commitment to their older counterparts, and indicating how healthy the Cornish game is.

The mens singles draw was a close fought affair, with 2 seeds, Guy Michell and Lee Bottrill, losing to Ross Lashbrook and Shane Maton, in 2 thrilling, long games. Lashbrook went on to push the top seed, and defending champion, Kelvin Edwards close before losing in the semis. The final lived up to its promise, with James Whetter, Cornwall’s number 2, attempting to regain the crown he’d held for many years back from Edwards. There was little to choose between them, as they held a game each going into the final end, before Edward’s consistency paid off as he finally won 21-19, retaining his champion status.

In the ladies, Jo Philp dominated the singles, beating Emily James in a repeat of the previous year, with the same result of Jo remaining county champion.
Jo then went on to win the ladies doubles, with her partner Rachel Irish, as top seeds comfortably seeing off the challenge of Emily James and Bronwen Wotton in the final.

For the mens doubles, no-one could match the power of Whetter and Michell, as they cruised to victory over Edwards and Tom Lyle, winning back the title they had lost last year.

The mixed doubles saw an upset with seeds Lyle/James beaten by Julian Cooper and Eve Robertson in the quarter finals, but they were no match for Edwards and Wotton who went on to the final. They met Whetter/Philp who had narrowly beaten Lashbrook and Jan Santillo in an exciting semi final. The last final of the day gave another victory for Edwards, with Bron Wotton edging out Whetter/Philp.

Winners of the plate competitions were:

Mens singles – Kris Jasper
Ladies singles – Daphne Luke
Mens doubles – Mike Finch/Tom Armstrong
Ladies doubles – Jan Santillo/Lorna Garbett
Mixed doubles – Dave Harrington/Tamsin Woodroffe

Trophies were presented by Tony Poole, Cornwall Badminton Association’s Chairman.
More details and fixtures of county matches coming up, are available on