Tuesday 21 November 2023

Cornwall’s 100% start to new season

 Cornwall’s top players make storming start

The first matches of the new season in Badminton England’s Senior County Championships took place last weekend, as Cornwall’s best players travelled to Bridgwater in Somerset to begin their campaign for promotion this year.

Cornwall’s top team

Milo’s team huddle

First up in the morning were a young Devon team and Cornwall’s four singles players, Milo Semonin, Harry Dyer, Hope Warner and Joanna Vyvyan set the tone by winning all the games in two comfortable ends. 

Harry wins his singles

The Cornish men continued their form in the doubles, as Milo and Liam Sillifant, plus Harry and older brother Jack Dyer, won again in two impressive ends. In the women’s doubles two new pairings of Hope and Melissa Lin, and Joanna and Bronwen Wotton, both went the distance in their games but won in three ends.

Liam and Milo in action

Dyer brothers winning

Hope and Melissa too good!

To complete the match, the three mixed doubles pairs of Milo and Hope, Elliot Dyer and Melissa, and Guy Michell and Bronwen, once again gave the Devon team no quarter, and won, to make the overall match score a storming 11-0 score.

Melissa and Elliot clean up

In the afternoon Cornwall took on one of the Avon teams, and again won all 4 singles games, with only Harry going to three ends before winning well against an experienced player, to give another great start.

Milo and Liam had two close ends in the men’s doubles, but won despite setting in both, while Harry and Jack won their game in convincing style. Hope and Melissa again stormed to victory, and Joanna and Bronwen followed suit despite being pushed in a hard-fought win.

Joanna and Bron win in three

Milo and Hope no contest

The three mixed pairs of Milo and Hope, Elliot and Melissa, and Guy and Bronwen completed the match in fine form by all winning in two to give another 11-0 overall score, and a fantastic 100% start to the season.

Guy and Bron show how it’s done 

Cornwall team –

Milo Semonin (Illogan), Harry Dyer (Truro), Liam Sillifant (Launceston), Jack Dyer (Truro), Elliot Dyer (Truro), Guy Michell (St Austell), Hope Warner (Illogan), Joanna Vyvyan (Camborne), Melissa Lin (Truro), Browen Wotton (Bristol)